Affection from the government – is it worth that much?

I should note how glad I am that I don’t live in California, and thus did not have to vote on Prop 8.  Because on one hand, I favor marriage equality – or rather, I think the government should just get out of the marriage business entirely – but on the other, I hate what is essentially legislation from the bench.  I wish the LBTG movement would stop using that tactic, because I find it super irritating.

More to the point, why do they use it?  I mean, if you want public approval of your lifestyle from a broad majority of people, shouldn’t you try to work through the legislature by persuading people it’s the right thing to do, instead of shoving it down their throat by using the courts?  It’s not a very good way of making new friends, if you know what I mean…

On the other hand, if you don’t care about public approval at all, you could just get a sympathetic preacher/rabbi to marry you and get an attorney to hash the whole thing out legally, and go around calling your significant other your wife/husband.  Of courses, taxes come into play, then.  I’m not sure how you’d handle that…

Anyway, I’m still glad I don’t live in California.

2 Responses

  1. Couldn’t have said it better myself, and I’ve spent the election season in California.

    Something that probably hasn’t been obvious to people who read about this elsewhere: California has a domestic partnership law, and by law, domestic partners have the same rights and responsibilities as married couples (Cal. Fam. Code §297.5).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domestic_partnership_in_California

    So all this money ($74.5 Million) was spent on a campaign over the use of a WORD.

    http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-moneymap,0,2198220.htmlstory

    Now, some say that “separate but equal” isn’t equal. However, last I checked, “White” and “Colored” people in the segregated American South and Apartheid South Africa had different drinking fountains, schools, etc.

    “Separate but equal” never meant that everybody got to use the same drinking fountain, but when one group drank from it, it was call it a “water fountain” in legal documents, whereas it was a “drinking fountain” when the other group used it.

    Now I understand that some gay couples may find this insulting. However, what is this really worth?

    I fully agree: get the government out of the marriage business altogether. Let us all have civil unions by law, and let churches and individuals call their relationships whatever they want.

  2. Oh yeah…

    One other thing.

    You hit the nail on the head: it really is about public approval more than anything else.

    We’d be a lot better off if people didn’t have some need for the state to give them the go-ahead, in order to feel okay about themselves. It won’t work, anyway.

Leave a Reply

